The rich history of this classic Amsterdam centre hotel dates back to 1864 when G.A. Heineken opened his first Heineken brewery on this location. Due to the city council filling in the canal in front of the building in the name of modernisation, Heineken moved his brewery to the present location on the Stadhouderskade in Amsterdam.
The Hulscher brothers continued the business and on 5 September 1870 a unique beer house opened its doors, called Die Port van Cleve. The name Die Port van Cleve comes from a memorial stone with the inscription 'Die Port van Cleve' which was found during the renovation of the building by the Hulscher brothers. The beer house was a popular place for business men and artists to get together. It did not take long before it expanded into a restaurant with the Brasserie 'De Poort', serving typical Dutch dishes and what were to become the famous numbered steaks. The numbered steaks have been served at this location since then. With the arrival of the travelling salesmen, the restaurant soon changed into a hotel, Hotel Die Port van Cleve Amsterdam.
In 1996 Hotel Die Port van Cleve was bought by its current owners. It has since then undergone several structural changes, like adding air-conditioning and redecoration of the hotel rooms in 2012. The monumental building of Hotel Die Port van Cleve still has several authentic features. The unique frontage of this historic hotel in Amsterdam has remained unchanged and has obtained monumental status. As has the unique interior of the Bar-Bodega De Blauwe Parade, with a large Delft Blue tile fresco dating back to 1887.